Almost 700 words today before the kids come home. Considering that the past couple of days have been a wash, and tomorrow being a school holiday, I consider that a win.

At this moment, I’m taking a little break to regroup. pottery-457445_1920

Here’s an update for Chapter 2 of my story. Put simply. It sucks.

But it doesn’t matter. I have to keep telling myself that it doesn’t matter, because it’s all about the word count, word count, word count. Who cares if it doesn’t make sense? Who cares if you get a little meta because you’re working on a few hours of sleep? It doesn’t matter, because it will all “get fixed in post” as they say in the film business.

NaNoWriMo isn’t about getting it right. It’s about getting it out. Like a potter’s wheel, you are going to start with a hideous lump, then after a while, with all the time, patience and understanding you can muster, you too can make something wonderful.

Anyway, Im taking a break to regroup. It’s not writer’s block. Not now, anyway. It’s that I’ve come to that wonderful realm that can either bolster courage in the hero, or make the weak run in terror.

I have reached a point where no amount of research is going to help me.

It’s that point where no map can tell me where to go. that moment when the dirt road turns into prairie.

I have reached a literary wilderness, and I’m kind of excited about it.

I don’t want to give too much away, and I don’t really think I have to. Let’s just say that a few of my characters are based on folklore, and in researching an origin for these beings, (and let’s face it, I’m a sucker for Origin Stories) the all powerful search engines come back to me with a mighty indifference.

Me: What are these things?

Search Engine: They are horrible creatures of myth.

Me: Where did they come from?

SE: They came from the Great Plains or Canada.

Me: What are there origins?

SE: …

Me: Hellooooo?

SE: [shrug] muhdunno… here, wanna buy something?

Trying to base my story on uncharted territory? What would Neil Gaiman do?

He would make it work, that’s what he’d do.

I’m a storyteller. I tell stories. It is my job, my duty, my honor to just make shit up.

I just have to keep reminding myself of that.

Now excuse me while I go get my hands dirty.

THE NEW YOU

Leave a Reply

