Yesterday morning, the coffee went down easy, and my infant son needed no persuasion in taking his mid-morning nap. It was dark and rainy outside, quiet and still inside. The conditions were right to get some serious wordage down.

Instead, taking notes was a bigger priority.

IMG_20151104_235553
Just over 6000 words so far.

Question asked by NaNoWriMo: “Are you a Planner, or are you a Pantser?”

Me: “I’m a Planner. See? I have notes.”

Nano: “Really?”

Me: “Really. I’m a planner.”

Nano: “Are you?”

Me: “Yes.”

Nano: “Really?”

Me: “…no…no, not really.”

I had all the best intentions when I started with my loose collection of scribbles and browser bookmarks, but more time was spent investigating a current subject on the story at that moment, than has been in the days leading up to it.

I can’t help it, I’m a Pantser. Have been for as long as I can remember.

Yesterday, I was all about getting to my goal, and getting there as soon as possible. Now whether it was the strength of the java that was making all the voices in my head talk over each other, or finally admitting to myself that I’m more comfortable making it up as I go along, or laundry, or whatever, the morning was mostly taken up with making an outline for a section of a chapter [breathe].

Downloading software, all of it free. Then, I remembered that you get what you pay for. Nothing is going to take the place with what I’m using already. So, good-bye Ywriter. Adios, Storyteller. This go around, I’ll stick with Google Docs and Windows Word Pad. It’s messy, nothing is in one place, but it works. For now.

With that little issue behind me, I failed to notice that the afternoon was fading away into evening. It was almost dinner and family time. I look down at my word count, and I barely made it passed 250.

At this rate, it was going to be the next day when I would finish.

9 PM in the evening; head down, keep typing.

11:30 PM, I exceeded the quota be at least a few dozen words.

It wasn’t pretty, but I remember reading somewhere that it doesn’t have to be. Although quality is the ultimate goal, for the time being quantity is going to have to trump quality. There will be time for editing later.

The conversation between two characters had become heated until I saw my word count spin well passed 1667. It was at that point that I indulged in a little End Zone Dance…

storydraft

Yep, I was punchy.

It kind of felt like that old cartoon with the wolf and the sheepdog?

“Morning, Ralph.”

“Morning, Sam.”

It’s an old cartoon kids, go ask your parents.

Anyway, back to it… Few thousand more words to go.

Leave a Reply

