Okay, that’s it.

Time for a little house cleaning.01cbd-dsc00180

It’s been well over a year since I first set out to market myself a Freelancer. Having absolutely no idea how to go about doing that, I thought the best thing to do at the time was to cast the widest net possible and worry about the details later.

Before I set out on this entrepreneurial adventure, I was barely scraping by as an office drone. That is until one day, the entire department I was working for got liquidated. For those of you have never experienced getting laid off from a job while in your forties while being fully aware that your resumé looks less like a typical employment history moving in one direction, and more like Authur Murray guide for tap dancing in minefields (ancient reference, kids. Go ask your parents), in a nutshell, it kinda sucks. Blah blah blah, too old to start over again, blah blah blah, I’m so bored with revisiting this, moving on…

I had one blog already established over on Blogger. I made a companion site which is what you’re reading now. Then came three more blogs, a YouTube page and a t-shirt business.

It wasn’t until recently where I finally admitted to myself that I might have spread my endeavors a little too thin; A little too over ambitious in trying to prove to the world that I can do things on my own. Which I can. But, when things that were put in motion tend to suffer because they haven’t been attended to, it sends the wrong message, and looks bad.

Before the end of the year, the net that I have cast will become smaller. That’s a good thing. I’ll explain…

sum-up

My intention with making two blogs with the same title with the same content was to see if A) I could get more views, and B) which platform would be more visible. Turns out, it didn’t really work. The views I got here weren’t that great, but I chalked it up with being new to WordPress, and not because the quality of the content wasn’t engaging. So, there’s Issue One.

Issue Two has been addressed earlier this year in deleting a blog that, honestly, was going nowhere. In order to sell myself as a freelancer, I needed to build up a portfolio of published works. When all I have is a personal blog, and nothing professional, the most logical step would be to start a professional blog. It was also in my best interest, as someone starting out, to write about something that I’m an expert in. Well, since I’m not an “expert” in anything, I decided to start a blog that was about graphic novels; news, reviews, recommendations…it went nowhere, so, in the recycle bin it went.

6d38c-forestlogoforbloggerpageIssue Three has to do with my T-shirt business. I made Forest City Design Co. as a legitimate business venture. Both to show off my ability with online graphics programs, and also as way to generate income with as little capital as possible. The store itself is up and running online. It could use a little help as far as brand awareness, so a complementary blog was made to direct people to the store. Now, like the previous issue, this one is in contention to go bye-bye as well, but not permanently. This blog would do better as an actual virtual store, which would require me to put my big boy pants on, buy a domain name and construct a website with a shopping cart and stuff. This is going to be a bigger project, and will take a little while to focus on. I’ll leave it simmering on the back burner for now.

Issue Four isn’t that much of an issue at all. My YouTube channel and accompanying blog is what it is. Sure, it can be improved, but it’s fine for now.

So, there it is. I’ve hung out several shingles in several places, but the shelves are practically empty in most of them, and that needs to change. My need to sell myself as a freelance writer and content creator has been established, although a little more focus would have done me well. I intend, as I always have, to keep what I have running, and to provide the best content I can produce.

So, three out of four of my issues are easily dealt with, this leaves the issue with the sister blogs. What to do, what to do?

Now, it seems like such a shame to get all surgical up in this piece, and get rid of one. Not when there’s potential to be had at both. However, posting the same thing twice isn’t really doing me any favors. So, what then?

This is The Writers Bloc. When I started this blog years ago, my intention was to write and post interesting things, and invite other writers of interesting things to drop by and do what they do. It was a vision. It was also unrealistic. In the years that followed, the mission statement has changed occasionally, but the need to write never went away. Still though, trying to please everyone by presenting myself as versatile, hasn’t really worked. Writing well was never really an issue. Being consistent with a message was.

Earlier this year, I got the urge to write myself to published. Short Fiction, Long Fiction, Flash Fiction, I have a lot of ideas that need to be put into book form. Right now, I am tackling the first few chapters of my first book. It’s challenging, but it’s worth it. I would like a platform where I can stretch my legs. Somewhere where I can offer previews of chapters for current projects, as well as using it as a repository for Flash Fiction.

But, I also need a place where I can engage in other ways like, dispense advice (such as it is), answer questions, crank out a top 10 list. You know, freelancing stuff.

So instead of doing everything on one platform, and publishing on another, I have come up with another way. As of this post, my WordPress site will be where I put all my fiction, and my Blogger site is where I’ll publish everything else.

This makes the most sense to me. I like it when things are tidied up and orderly.

Still though, there is an issue of a name change. I can’t realistically keep two blogs with the same title. It’s just too confusing.

I really don’t want to have this conversation in the future: “Did you check out my latest story? I posted it on my blog. No, not that one, the other one…”

So, a new name is needed. Not sure what it will be.

Something to ponder over the weekend.

Thank you for your support.

One thought on “Pardon Our Dust…

Leave a Reply

