Motivation Monday: Sing Along If You Know the Words…

Go ahead. Take another piece of me. Use me up until I am a withered husk. Take away my livelihood, make me question my choices, steer me in the wrong direction and blame it on me. Go ahead. Take everything.

You can’t take the sky from me.

from Funnytoo.com

Firefly never stood a chance. The geniuses over at Fox tried to rekindle a relationship between those of us who were old enough to remember watching television on a Friday night, and content that would be worthy enough to keep us home on a Friday night. Long story short, the experiment failed. People still watched TV, just not enough to justify another season of this show. Any television show that gets cancelled mid-season probably has a pretty good reason for it; mainly because no one was watching it. Firefly had yet to complete its first full season of television, and yet has accumulated a rabid world-wide following.

Why is this?

Could it be that the time was right for a Sci-Fi Western with hints of Steampunk? Maybe it was the episode where Captain Mal showed his buttocks (amiryte, ladies)? Or, maybe it was the distinct writing style of Joss Whedon that hooked me in for those turbulent weeks, and turned me back into that kid in his pajamas waiting for Wonder Woman, The Incredible Hulk, The Dukes of Hazzard and of course, Knight Rider to start.

It could have been all those things. Still though, I’d like to think that this show, short lived as it was, hit the right chord with the right people at the right time. And I’m not talking about giving nerd-dom another universe to devour, although I’d be wrong if I didn’t say that it had just a little to do with it…

Why, yes! That is my Firefly board game, thank you for noticing!

I’m speaking in terms of the feel, the underlying message of the whole thing. I mean, I could be wrong and completely biased, but what I took away from this show was a never-say-die spirit that has been beaten up and yet survives; on to the next job, it might be dangerous, but we need to survive. The Captain of this ship is a veteran of a war that he didn’t win. He could have curled up and died, he could have wasted away in some back water, he chose instead to survive. He chose to survive by essentially being an independent contractor. Sure, most of the jobs were shady, but at the end of the day, the captain and his crew were still big damn heroes.

What I took away from this was to go ahead and take a chance. Make your own way. Carve your own path. If you can’t find it, make it! They’ve liquidated your job, sent it over seas. They told you that you were “overqualified”. They are hiring, but just not right now. They told you to fight in a war that you had no hope of winning, and if you survived, you’re on your own. Make your own way. What are they going to do, take another piece of you?

They can’t take the sky from you…

Graphic:

Font:

 

Leave a Reply

