Off The Shelf

 “Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?”

I’m a few days behind, but I couldn’t help but respond The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt posted above.

Lullaby cover  The book I have always found time for is Chuck Palahniuk’s “Lullaby” (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is always a close second). For a while, this was a yearly read for me. Around the time when the leaves fall, I would find myself curled up on the couch with a copy in my hand. Had to put it away for a while to allow for assorted Neil Gaiman titles… y’know…priorities.

Anyway, the reason I would always find time to read this book as that it starts off in a place that, to the unseasoned writer, would seem impossible to move forward from. (*SPOILERS* The section in one of the opening chapters where he’s building a doll house still gets to me. Even after all this time. I read that part, slowly close the book, place it on a table and gently push it as far away from me as possible. It’s that unnerving. ) It starts out dark and abysmal, moves forward into uneasy and alien, strolls confidently into quirky, and ends up a hilarious mess that has you screaming for a sequel.

What keeps me coming back to this title is Chuck’s deft ability to weave tight suspense with absurd but realistic humor. I’m not good at reviews, so I’ll just leave that here.

Leave a Reply

