I Will Catch The Sun In Daddy’s Hat (first verse)

I will catch the sun in Daddy’s hat,
And fill it up with flowers.
I’ll hop in his shoes
Like kangaroos.
Then I’ll dance for hours and hours.
We’ll ride bikes and swim,
Maybe take off to the fair.
We’ll count the stars,
Fireflies in jars.
And I’ll spin flowers in my hair.
We’ll hunt for buried treasure
Without knowing where it’s at.
Then, I’ll catch the sun in Daddy’s hat.
~***~
I have more. In the back of my head. I wanted to get a little bit out there to test the waters; to see how it would look, to hear how it would sound, to see if it would make sense, to see if I actually want to move forward with this.
Yet another magic nugget from the lips of my child. Up until recently, I would wear a tuque or a tam to keep my hair from scaring people under control. During the 10 month summer season down here in Florida, I have a tendency to take my hat off and let my head breath because a black, knit wool is not the most comfortable thing to wear when the thermometer never dips below 80°F. On one of these days, the whole family was in the car to go to some shopping. Took off my hat and put it in the back seat. My daughter picked it up and held it up to the sun to give her shade and said, “I will catch the sun in daddy’s hat…” I had to hurry up and get to the store so I could save that line on my phone.

Like I said, there’s more where this came from, but I’d like to turn this into a children’s book. Is there anyone out there that can point me in the right direction? It would be appreciated.

©2014 Anthony Payson/The Writers’ Bloc

Leave a Reply

