Come Out and Play…

Ohh…it’s on now!

The signs and signals burning bright in the night sky for the past few days are moving closer. The chants and drum growing louder. I have defenses and they’ll hold. At least a while. Something of great power is chanting my name in the wilderness. It calls to me in moments of quiet and mocks those precious moments of solitude. For days, it has been calling me out to play…

…I shall oblige…

It is ON now!

How on is it? I went into my library last night and pulled three books that haven’t seen the light of day in years. These books are my army, my armor, my show of force. I am usually prone to approach these things with the wits that I have. But this time…? No matter if it’s to negotiate or battle, if I am to answer the call, I am arriving prepared.

The first: Writer’s Guide to Character Traits second edition by Linda N. Edelstein, Ph.D. Many years ago when I first started blogging, I somehow got it into my head that if it wasn’t in the stars for me to write the ‘Great American Novel’ I would write something close to it. So, I spent some cash that I didn’t have over the next few months and made weekend trips to my local Barnes & Noble. Since I needed to work on fleshing out my characters in my new story that never got off the ground, I thought that this would be a good place to start. This was the first in an almost monthly progression of book buying. In fact, it has been so long since I last cracked this open that I can’t pinpoint or highlight any section to convey that is any more important than an other. Suffice to say, flip open to any page, and you’re already on your way to building living, breathing, honest to goodness characters.

Second: 20 Master Plots and How to Build Them by Ronald B. Tobias. To be honest, nothing really stuck out in this book. I do remember spending many a lunch break pouring through its pages. Quick glance: Every chapter offers a descriptive break down of every plot ever conceived with a checklist at the end of every one to aid you in your story.
Lastly: Story Structure Architect by Victoria Lynn Schmidt, Ph.D. This is the one I have at arm’s length at all times. I’ve slept with it under my pillow on occasion. This book further explains every plot ever written as well as alternatives, it offers references from a number of current films, takes full advantage of graphs for those who need more of a visual reference to further explain a path of any particular story. I cannot endorse the book enough if you are starting out or if you’re a pro who gets stuck on occasion.

I am prone to ramble and I’m okay with that. I’m in no hurry to offer another Top 10 List into the blogosphere, and I have nothing tangible to sell. All I have is my words. Right now, my words are going to have to be put to better use.

Something happened to me last week. It was nothing life changing or detrimental to my existence. It was something rather mundane, I would imagine, to anyone else. To me though, it was rather significant, and instead of recounting what happened word for word and probably making up half of it for content sake, I decided to interpret it into fiction. I have no idea how it will turn out so I can’t promise anything. It’s still in its embryonic state, it’s still a zygote. I have another rant in me, maybe an other observance to make sure that my fingers are still nimble, but I need to stretch out beyond rambling about nothing for a little bit and put my Fiction Writer Hat for a little bit.

Back soon…

Photo Credit:
Light in the Woods

Leave a Reply

