The Capricorn Initiative: What Would Horatio Alger Do (chapter 1, part 1)

Author’s Note: I should stop titling anymore of my future blog posts with ‘The Capricorn Initiative’. I was at a loss to find a title for a blog a few posts back and these two letters just appeared while I was writing. ‘The Capricorn Initiative’ sound more like a Tom Clancy novel than a random blog of some dude trying to make it on his own. Seriously, I think I’ll tuck this away and use it for another one of Chuck Wendig’s writing challenges someday. So for the time being, I’ll just stick with the Horatio Alger aspect of it.

~***~
[Section removed after Blogger thought it would be a swell idea to freak out after I input some simple HTML code. Now it’s late at night, and I’m tired. It’s something that I always do, but tonight, you didn’t feel like doing it…again. I’m telling you, Blogger, I’m severely disappointed in you. This is the second time where you killed my content for no reason. WordPress is indeed looking better. Shove your precious Ad Sense…]
 

I’m trying not to give the wrong impression where I’m blogging just for the page views. On one hand, I track my views to judge which way the wind is blowing; to see if my content is worth reading. On the other hand, I’m seeing if any of this amounts to anything financial; visa-vie Ad Sense. I don’t know why I bother looking. I generated a whopping five cents all last month and I don’t see that improving any time soon (WordPress is looking better and better). All of these things sound like I’m writing for the wrong reasons, but honestly, regardless of all these metrics that I make for myself, the real reason that I keep going on this is watching my viewership grow, and watching my followers grow from a paltry 2 to a now-we’re-getting-somewhere 21. I keep going because I love seeing notices in my email letting me know that more people are following. I keep going because it is worth it and because it feels like I’m getting somewhere; I’m on the right track. I keep going because I appreciate everyone who drops by and sits a spell. Thank you, my readers.

Imagine my chagrin when I check my stats last night and find out that not that many people checked me out today. I’m not sure, but I think it had something to do with not posting anything? Simple physics: don’t expect a reaction when an action hasn’t started.

I was absent for most of the day yesterday because it’s getting close to crunch time for me. I have been preparing for the better part of two weeks for tomorrow. Tomorrow is my first venture at going into business for myself. How am I going to make my first million? You guessed it. I’m going to sell cakes at my daughter’s fundraiser for her school!

FINANCIAL INDEPENDENCE, HERE I COME!!!!

[For those of you keeping track at home, this is the part of the movie where Chris Farley has a brilliant idea while David Spade mugs the camera facepalming for five minutes straight.]

Now I know what you’re thinking, any MBA worth his salt would tell you that the first step towards financial prosperity is always going to be a bake sale. I mean, duh, right? Everybody knows that.

Anyway, it is now 1:30 in the morning and I’m going to end this abruptly. It’s been several hours since I started this entry because I had to pull the last of the cakes out of the oven, make dinner and so on…I have eight dozen cakes, a stack of flyers and no idea what tomorrow will bring. If anything, it’ll look good on a resume, right, MBA dudes? I have a lot to catch up with and a lot more to come.

Watch this space…

Photo Credit:
Typewriter

Leave a Reply

